Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Still Here

on February 9, 2015

I’ve spent a lot of time lately wondering about this space. This blog was my way of dealing with loss and pain, and I don’t know if I could have survived without it and the community that I have found. Now that I have my precious little Squish, I’m not sure what to do with it.

I would come to this blog in times of depression. In times of fear. In times of survival. In times of hopelessness. But I’m not so sure how to express myself now that I am happy. I’m not saying being a new parent is all sunshine all the time–it’s stressful, overwhelming, and exhausting, but I am so thankful that we have made it to this place and that we have a healthy baby that writing about how hard it is seems petty and somehow dishonest to the joy that he has brought into my life. I also have a real fear of sounding ungrateful or of hurting those who are still in the trenches by talking about how hard motherhood can be.

But I can also see how beneficial this space can still be. I would like a place to talk about how difficult it is to recover physically from giving birth or how going back to school less than two weeks after having a child totally sucks.

And I feel like I owe all of you. You’ve helped me so much, and I feel like I need to share him with you because of that. You shared the burden of my losses with me, so I want to share my joy with you.

So I’m not promising more than the occasional update, but I want you to know that I’m not going away. I’ve faithfully kept up with my reader and your stories, and I’ll still pop in every once in awhile to share mine.

2 responses to “Still Here

  1. clwalchevill says:

    One of the things that caught me off guard was the emotions of parenting after IF. Infertility has forever changed me, but there is a lot of healing that’s come with finally parenting.

    Do with this space what you need to. For some, this means only the occasional update. For others, this means taking a different direction. But ultimately this space is for you. Including the sunshine.

  2. It’s your space, so you get to do with it what you want. While you may experience some guilt for moving to the other side of infertility, the fact is that’s the goal for everyone! I hope you do continue to share, as stories of those who are now parenting give me so much hope!
    Love to you as you figure out your next steps in the blogging world.

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

The Crunchy Dungeon

Life with a Crunchy Wife

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

