Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Coming Out

on May 29, 2014

I’ll just come out and say it: I’m pregnant. To be exact, I’m 10 weeks and 5 days pregnant. I’ve avoided posting about it for two reasons. First, there were some other things that I wanted to write about first. Also, there are a couple of people who know me in real life that know about this blog and I wasn’t ready for that yet. That being said, if you know me in real life, please keep this news under wraps and let me announce when I’m ready. You are welcome to talk to me about it, but just don’t talk to others about it.

But I ultimately decided to break the silence because I really need this community. I have wonderful family and a few friends who know and are so supportive, but they don’t understand like you do. They’ve never been in the trenches of loss.

For this post, I wanted to give you a quick overview of how things are going, and then I plan on writing a few posts about different moments in the last couple of months. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but everything has been going really well. I have had two perfect ultrasounds (one at 6 wks 2 days and another at 8 wks 2 days), and my doctor was positively giddy about how everything looked. I’m taking prenatals, prometrium, metanx (for mthfr mutation), and fish oil (a natural blood thinner because of my aspirin allergy), and this particular cocktail seems to be working. My next ultrasound is at 12 wks 2 days on June 9th. Waiting for that appointment has been the longest, most torturous wait of my life, but we are down to 11 sleeps at this point.

We are hopeful. Every once in awhile the panic starts to creep up, but this whole experience has been  much different from my other pregnancies. So we are nervous (read: terrified), but hopeful. Maybe the sixth time’s the charm.

Check back for some posts about the process thus far.

13 responses to “Coming Out

  1. nonsequiturchica says:

    Congrats! I hope the next 11 days go by quickly for you!

  2. I will be sending up some prayers for all 3 of you!

  3. Annie says:

    Wow, congratulations! I will be hoping your 12 week appointment goes perfectly.

  4. ewagner123 says:

    Yay! Yay! Yay! I have a good feeling about this… I am keeping you in my thoughts. Good luck. I’m so happy for you :)

  5. Arwen Rose says:

    Huge congratulations my dear friend! I am so excited and hopeful for lucky number six 😊

  6. Audrey says:

    Congratulations, beautiful lady. Sending love and light your way. <3

  7. Theresa says:

    YAY CONGRATS!!

  8. SM says:

    Yay! I’m cautiously optimistic with you! Sending love your way!

  9. lydiaseeks says:

    Wonderful news!! Congratulations!

  10. Congratulations! I’ve just started following your blog, so I don’t know your “story”, but I suspect this news is exciting and somewhat scary! Wishing you all the best and looking forward to following along!

  11. Congratulations! :D Hoping and praying everything continues to go well for you.

  12. steph50 says:

    Ohhhhh buddy!!!! Soooo excited for you!! I squeeled so loud when I read this! Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

