Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Facing Some Fears

on May 14, 2014

Recently, there have been multiple posts on my reader about adoption. I know I said I would write about our adoption process, but the truth is that we have been dragging our feet for a lot of reasons. We have plenty of practical reasons, and we have basically come to the decision that we are going to wait until either I finish school (halfway there!) or hubby gets a fire job. But to be completely honest, we are also dealing with some fear.

Let me tell you about my little sister’s friend C. C got pregnant right out of high school with a guy who was bad news. My mom offered to pay for the legal costs to keep the dad out of her baby’s life, but C made the decision to give her daughter up for adoption and was matched with a wonderful couple. We all thought that C would be a good mother and that adoption might not be the right decision for her, but we all supported her desire to give her daughter a life and opportunities that she wouldn’t otherwise have. A couple of years later, C’s open adoption isn’t going well. She basically wants to co-parent with the adoptive parents without any of the responsibility of being a parent. She wants to be called Momma C and be one of three parents who raise the baby. She does things like calling the adoptive parents to lecture them about driving while it is storming with the baby in the car which she doesn’t think is safe. She wants to make all of the decisions for the baby while the adoptive parents pay the bills and do all the hard parts of raising her. C is miserable and grieving and deeply regrets putting her daughter up for adoption, but she did.

I don’t see this situation resolving–it is unhealthy and stressful. The adoptive parents are plagued by unhappy phone calls from the birth mother who is not healing. I don’t want to be in this situation. I don’t want those adoptive parents to be us. I have heard so many positive adoption stories–even lots of positive stories about open adoption, but this is something that I have seen first-hand, and it scares me.

7 responses to “Facing Some Fears

  1. clwalchevill says:

    Wow, that story is one that would scare any potential adoptive parent. I do think there is a way to resolve this, but it will require some unpleasant decisions from these parents (mainly contacting the agency and pushing for counseling for the birth mom). Still, I this story is certainly a cautionary tale for why it’s important to work out boundaries and develop a game plan for how to deal with the unexpected.

    Regardless, I can understand why this would scare you. After all the heartache from infertility/loss, this site last thing you need. But I also believe that not all situations are like this one. That open adoption can and does work. Sometimes it means establishing boundaries, but openness isn’t solely defined by one model.

    Hang in there

  2. Caroline says:

    Thank you for sharing this story! We are considering adoption in the future and this is something to consider for sure. It makes sense as to why you would be hesitant.

  3. hopingonhope says:

    Wow. I feel for the adoptive parents and the birth mom. The birth mom defenitely needs counselling. Its unfair to her as well as thr adoptive parents. However, this might not be the normal for all open adoptions. There will be good and happy stories too. Good luck with wverything.

  4. Theresa says:

    oh man that is scary!! I feel for your friend and the adoptive parents both and can definitely see why it makes you hesitant

  5. Thanks for sharing this! We are also thinking about adoption, and are its our fears of situations like this that make me think adoption may not be for us.

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

