Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Molly

on October 17, 2013

Last year we got a puppy. My heart was broken because our children kept dying, so we got Molly, a sweet little five week old pup who stole my heart. She filled an empty place in my heart and when I was sad, she gave me joy. Having her was so wonderful, we got another pup, Jack, for her to play with. Just the other day I thought that I could be happy–that hubby and my furbabies could be enough. I was content, and what I had was enough.

Last week, we came home and found Molly dead in the yard. She was lying in her usual spot, but she wasn’t there anymore. She was gone.

I miss her. I miss the way she always smelled like puppy. I miss the way she used to get so excited that she would start yelping when we came home. I miss snuggling with her. I miss the way she would paw at me when I asked her to sit because she was anticipating that I would ask her to shake. I miss watching her chew on Jack’s ears. I miss the way she would fall asleep with her head on my chest. I miss playing fetch with her. She was my baby. The only baby I ever got to hold. And I miss her.

Molly

16 responses to “Molly

  1. ewagner123 says:

    Oh my gosh. So sorry to hear. That’s terrible.

  2. SM says:

    Oh, sweetie, I’m so sorry to hear this. I was thinking of you yesterday and hoping that your absence was a good thing. I’m devastated to learn of the loss of your sweet Molly. I’m sending love and light your way, dear friend.

  3. Annie says:

    Oh no, this is just awful :( When I read the sentence about her passing away in the yard I couldn’t breathe. I’m so sorry. Losing a pet is heartbreaking no matter what, but it’s just not fair that you had to lose Molly after all you’ve gone through.

  4. Oh my gosh this is awful!! I’m so sorry for your loss- our pets are part of our family. Do you have any idea what happened?

  5. April says:

    I’m so sorry. Losing a pet is losing family.

  6. I am so very, very sorry sweetie. It’s so terribly hard, perhaps especially for people like us. There are no words that will ease your loss, so I’m sending you cyber hugs xxx

  7. WombforAnother says:

    Oh my goodness, I’m so sorry to hear this sad news. Sending hugs your way x

  8. Oh my God. I’m so so sorry to hear about your sweet Molly. I’ve grown up with 2-3 dogs in the home. We currently have two, and they are like my children. I love them incredibly. So, I definitely understand the sense of loss you’re describing. Your words brought tears to my eyes. When I was a kid, one of my dogs died suddenly after digging up an old piece of plastic in the backyard and choking on it. It was horrible. I saw your comment above that you still don’t know what happened. I hope you get some answers soon. But you can be sure of one thing. She was clearly so loved. And had a joyful time while here. I can tell by the way you talk about her and by the happiness on her face in this picture. Hugs and kisses to you guys.

  9. steph50 says:

    Ohhh love… This is such sad news… I can’t believe it! I’m terribly sorry for your loss. Xoxox

  10. Theresa says:

    Oh no. I am so sorry. It seems like it was really unexpected. Do you know what happened?

  11. Arwen Rose says:

    Oh sweetie I am so so sorry. I too was thinking of you the other day and hoping that you and hubs were enjoying Living. I am gutted for you and poor little Molly, she looks so adorable, and so happy. I hope you find some answers and that she died with no pain :(

  12. Oh dear, I’m so sorry for your loss! She was such a comfort and a loving soul. Big hugs for you.

  13. pepibebe says:

    Oh I am so very sorry to read this. We too got a puppy recently as my babies both died (miscarriages) and things haven’t been going well on the making more front. I so desperately needed a baby anything to hold and a dog to be my little companion. Ours is fine, but there have been many times since we’ve had her where I’ve worried about how I would cope emotionally if anything happened to her. It’s a dreadful thought and I feel for you having to go through this after your others losses.
    Sometimes the universe just refuses to cut us any slack at all huh?
    X

  14. I’m so sorry for your loss. What a devastating thing to happen. I’m praying for you and your husband. x

  15. Oh no. I am so sad for you, Dh and Jack. That is so hard, she looked so full of life and excitement. I bet she was a little bundle of love and joy.

    I don’t know why bad things happen to good people. lamentingthelentil said it so well: this is so hard but rest assured that Molly knew she was loved.

    Her life was brief but all of you were blessed for having found each other for the time you had. Much love.

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

