Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Stuck in the Middle

on May 23, 2013

Going to the ultrasound today, I thought I was prepared for anything. I was prepared for disaster–for an empty sack, for a baby with no heartbeat, for an ectopic pregnancy. I was also prepared for a beautiful miracle where everything looked perfect.

I was not prepared to be stuck somewhere in the middle.

Today we saw a baby sitting high in my uterus that measured 6 weeks with a heartbeat of 83. Hubby is ecstatic that we saw a heartbeat, but I am wary of a baby measuring behind with a slow heartbeat. At the moment, I am forcing myself to stay away from Google and concentrate on each day as it comes and staying healthy and sane for our baby. I am supposed to go back in a week for a comparison ultrasound to see if the pregnancy is viable.

I’m still processing all of this, but I wanted to give you all an update.

Oh, and now is a good time for encouraging success stories. Ready, go.

7 responses to “Stuck in the Middle

  1. steph50 says:

    I wish you had a definite, positive answer, too! Do stay away from evil-Google and be good to yourself. You’re always in my thoughts!! Xoxoxo

  2. steph50 says:

    Oh and at that size, they are soooo small that a single mm can make a whole difference in gestationnal age, so measuring is not very precise! Everything might be just fine :)

  3. SM says:

    Babies can measure behind and easily catch up in the first few weeks. My SIL’s baby was measuring behind (she was tracking ovulation so she does know she what the baby was supposed to be measuring) and when she went back two weeks later the baby was right on track. She’s now late in her second trimester and I just went to her baby shower this past weekend! You could quite possibly be the next success story I add to my list! Keep hanging in there, sweetie!

  4. Still praying for you and your baby. x

  5. Theresa says:

    A friend of mine had a similar issue – for several weeks actually her baby was measuring anywhere from a few days to over a week behind. At one point she was told that if there was no growth by the next ultrasound that a miscarriage was inevitable – and a week later at her next appt – her baby had caught up. He is now a healthy 20 month old.
    It can happen. Fingers crossed.

  6. redbluebird says:

    If you’re going to Google anything, Google success stories! I’m sure there are TONS of them. I’ll be thinking of you & sending lots of extra good luck for that little one growing in there!

  7. Arwen Rose says:

    My sil measured a whole week behind her calculations for so many weeks the doctor would not believe when she had ovulated or when they had sex! The pregnancy is now 17 weeks and as healthy as could be. Measuring in the womb at anytime is pretty inaccurate as it can depend on soo many variables. The fact that you’ve seen a heartbeat is amazing! And whilst you’re of course not out of the woods the heartbeat even being there lessens the danger a little. Keep believing in this tiny one!

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

