Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Kindness Friday Part II

on April 19, 2013

A few weeks ago, I wrote a post about the lies I tell myself. It was good for me to not just acknowledge these thoughts, but to admit them to others and write them down. I don’t, however, believe that it will lead to healing unless I fully confront those thoughts and reveal them to be the lies that they are. That’s how Theresa and I came up with Kindness Friday. The idea is to write a post on Fridays where you are kind to yourself and maybe confront one of those lies and reveal the untruthfulness (yes, I’m making up words) of it.

This week I wanted to confront a lie that I didn’t mention in my previous post, but I have talked about it before on this blog, and I know other women struggle with it. It’s the idea that my husband would have been better off marrying someone else who could easily give him children. Trust me, I know how ridiculous it sounds, and I feel silly just writing it out, but it is a thought that has crossed my mind on more than one occasion. When thinking about how to counter this lie, I thought about making a list of all the ways I am a good wife to my husband, but I decided that was too much like trying to “prove” myself as a wife when the truth is that my husband loves me. I don’t have to earn that love with a list of wifely duties. I don’t have to earn it by birthing our children (although I do truly hope that I will). The truth is, my husband and I have a really good marriage. We take care of each other, and we get along better than any couple our age that I’ve met (I actually have friends that get annoyed with the fact that hubby and I never fight). He makes  my heart so happy, and I am thankful for him every. single. day. And I can tell by the way he looks at me, treats me, and speaks to me (and to others about me), that he feels the same way. We are soul mates, and we were incredibly blessed to find each other so early in life.

I am a good wife. I have an extraordinary marriage. My husband is just as blessed to have me as I am to have him, even if that is hard for me to believe.

4 responses to “Kindness Friday Part II

  1. ewagner123 says:

    Yay! I love this post :)

  2. April says:

    This is something I struggle a lot with, especially with our history. This post is one I’ll read over and over, because you make your point so well and succinctly. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

