Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

The POAS Plan

on February 6, 2013

Today is 8 DPO, and I am resisting the urge to pee on all the things. I would like to hold out until 10 DPO because I’ve gotten a BFP on that day with two different pregnancies so I think it’s a pretty safe pee day, but it’s just so hard to resist. So today I thought I would share my “wait until 10 DPO to pee on a stick” plan. I’ve been following this two-part plan for nine or ten months, and it seems to work for me:

1. No peesticks in the house. If I have them, I will pee on them. Some people like to stock up on HPT’s, but I’ve discovered that I loose all self control when I have a stack of them in my house. Instead, I will purchase them on my way home from work the day before I test and try to hold out until the next day so I can use FMU. Sometimes that doesn’t work and I just hold my pee for a few hours that night, but I do try to wait until morning.

2. Use cheap dollar store peeticks until I get a BFP, then switch to digital for confirmation. We often have friends ask us how we manage to survive on the amount of money we make, and the answer is that we are really cheap. I just can’t justify the price of fancy peesticks because I feel guilty wasting the money, and hubby gets upset (he never actually says that it upsets him, but I can tell he’s annoyed). So I always start with dollar store cheapies, which works out great. I’ve always gotten my BFP a few days before my period is due when using them, and I don’t feel bad about wasting money if it’s negative. I actually have a system where I hoard dollars and save them to buy peesticks. If I want to buy something cheap that I don’t need, like a soda or candy bar, I ask myself if I’m willing to sacrifice one of my peestick dollars for it. The answer is usually no because I love my peesticks. Once I get a squinter, however, I allow myself to use a digital HPT so I don’t drive myself crazy analyzing the lines.

That’s it. It’s a simple plan but it works. It keeps me from testing way too early which will stress me out and waste our money. I have two dollars stashed in my wallet, so I will buy two tests at the dollar store on my way home tomorrow and hopefully get a BFP on Friday, which is 10 DPO.

Does anyone else have a method for testing?

9 responses to “The POAS Plan

  1. April says:

    Mine was always put it off, put it off, put it off! I’m not a pee-er. :)

    Good luck holding out, and good luck with a BFP!

    • I’m not an obsessive, pee multiple times a day and freak out about it pee-er, but I do always start getting the urge at about 6 DPO. I think it has a lot to do with the fact that I’m really impatient and a bit of a control freak.
      Thanks for the luck :o)

  2. ewagner123 says:

    I hope you get your BFP. I started by testing way too early… when I got my last BFP I waited until 11 DPO. I was charting and waited to see when I was past my normal LP. Good luck :)

  3. hopingonhope says:

    I could have written every line of this post. I now don’t even bother POAS anymore. Its just too much heart ache and tears. I am more like, why start crying 3 days in advance. Not that I can drink anything right now to feel better. Might as well wait for the Beta and then drink myself silly when its negative.

    Hope you get a sticky BFP shortly.

    • This month is a little different for me because this would be our one hit wonder, so I won’t be surprised at a BFN. For me, it really has nothing to do with drinking (I rarely drink anyway) or preparing myself, I just want to know because I like to be in control like that :o)

      • hopingonhope says:

        You never know. Lets hope you are in the boat of “All it takes is one time”. We can hope right? :) Am glad you are so positive about everything. I wish I could do that. I get depressed badly and then start going down the what-if’s road which depress more.

  4. storkchaser says:

    Good plan! I never plan because I can’t stick to it. I pee when I want and I have zero willpower. I admire you woman!

  5. SM says:

    I used to just test, test, test but lately it’s been easy to put it off. I think I may just use it all up this cycle since it’s our last. I have enough to pee twice a day from 6DPO on! Not sure if I will though! Good luck with your plan!

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

