Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

February Little Miss Crafty Pants Challenge!

on February 2, 2013

It looks like we got a pretty good turnout for the Little Miss Craftypants Challenge :o) All of the projects look so great, and some of them look intimidating–I’m seriously impressed at the talent we have in this community. I’m so excited to see all of your finished creations! Here are the projects that will be made:

First up is Sexy Sadie from The Sub-fertile Slut:

Maryland Love // Reclaimed Wood Nail and String Art Tribute to The Old Line State

She got her project idea off of Pinterest, and here is what she has to say about it:
“I chose this project as a housewarming gift for my best lady in the whole world. She just moved into her own apartment and is living alone for the first time. She told me she desperately needs things to hang on the wall. I decided to make this nail/string state art project since she has moved around a lot. I’ll be making one of Maryland, one of Arizona, and one of Washington–all these states she has lived in. Hope she loves them!”

 

Next is Arwen from MRKH Musings:

Arwen

Here’s what she had to say about her project: “I have started to make this for my godson’s belated Christmas present! This will be the most complicated crochet project I will have ever done and I’m ready to improve!”

 

Next is April from R. Sativus:

April

Here is what she has to say about her project: “I’ve decided to make a stuffed turtle. I found this fabric at goodwill, and I’ll use it for his shell. I have some plain green for head, feet, and tail. I’m going to design the pattern myself, so no links to share for this one. I’ve always been an artist who loved crafty stuff, but I just started machine sewing this past Christmas. I love it!!”

 

Next is Hoping on Hope:

Iris Afghan

She got her pattern from The Daily Knitter, and here’s what she has to say about it: “I have selected yarn in the shade of golden orange and require a thick 2 ply yarn. Lets see how it turns out to be. I think it will add a nice pop of color to my living room.”

 

Finally, here is my project:

I got the pattern here. I’ve been knitting for awhile, and I’ve finally started branching out into harder projects. Last month I made a cute cardigan that was very basic, and I wanted to try something a little harder this month. I may be biting off more than I can chew, but I ‘m going to give it my best effort! I picked out a very soft green yarn that’s really pretty, so as long as I don’t screw up the knitting, it should be a very nice sweater.

Just as a reminder, email me a picture of your completed projects by February 25, but if it doesn’t look like we will be ready by then, we can adjust it. Along with your picture, let us know how it went including any disasters, do-overs, or happy accidents :o)

Think this looks like a lot of fun and don’t want to miss out? Email me a picture of a crafty project you want to complete along with a link if applicable and a short description in the next couple of days and I’ll add you in!

Also, it seems like most everyone was interested in making this a challenge so anyone who completes a project every month for three months will get a prize. The best part? The prize will be something handmade by another blogger who is participating. It will be a prize exchange! Wahoo!

2 responses to “February Little Miss Crafty Pants Challenge!

  1. Kristin says:

    I was thinking of throwing in my current project, but I don’t think I will finish it for months and months. I may even have to set it aside and work on my baby blanket before returning to it. I’m knitting a scarf for my mum. Good luck on the sweater!!

    • You are welcome to jump in whenever you like! Maybe when you start on your baby blanket, you can participate with that :-) Is it the chevron blanket you posted a while back? It’s super cute.

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

