Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Endurance

on January 28, 2013

For those of you who are church-goers, have you ever gone to church and felt like the pastor was speaking directly to you? Like he is addressing everything you are going through and his sermon was written specifically to encourage you with your current struggles? I have felt like this every Sunday for weeks, and I have been taking a lot of notes so I can go back to them for encouragement and insight. I wanted to let you all know a little of what he said in hopes that you find encouragement too.

Pastor has been doing a sermon series on Nehemiah for a few weeks now. In his first sermon on the series, he talked about how Nehemiah went straight to prayer and fasting when he heard that the walls of Jerusalem had fallen. He said that when disaster comes, we usually do one of two things: we ignore the problem or we frantically try to fix the problem. We do not usually immediately turn to prayer. This spoke to me quite a bit. In this journey, how much time have I spent charting, researching, blogging, and doing other things to “fix” my problems? We always have a plan B, plan C, heck we’re on plan G right now, but I think in a lot of ways, pastor was right–I spend a whole lot more time trying to fix our fertility issues than I do praying about them. Which is funny considering they are ultimately out of my hands.

Yesterday, I swear pastor was talking to me. The sermon was on endurance. Pastor talked about rebuilding the walls of Jerusalem and how the people were tired and wanted to quit after the wall was half built, and he said that opposition is inevitable, especially when you are doing something that God has called you to. Something I thought was particularly relevant was when he said that the tools Satan uses to bring opposition haven’t changed over the years. Nehemiah refers to discouraging people (Neh 4:1-3) and discouraging progress (Neh 4:9-10), and these are things we face today. I think it is something we especially face with infertility. I know each of us has had a conversation with someone who just didn’t understand and ended up discouraging or upsetting us instead of building us up, and I also know that we have all faced discouraging results–things just don’t move along the way we want them to. Every cycle it feels like we have to start over from the beginning, especially if we experience a loss. Pastor kept emphasizing: just keep praying, just keep building, just keep picking up bricks, just keep praying.

It was just really encouraging yesterday to hear this–to be reminded to persevere through prayer. Prayer may not make me able to have a child, but it will encourage me and it will keep me connected to God and His plan.

4 responses to “Endurance

  1. GatorGirl says:

    Thank you so much for sharing!!

  2. Totally agree, I definitely need to turn to prayer more. Latke I’ve been going through an especially difficult point in our journey and I find myself at a loss of what to even pray for. Maybe I need to think of it more as a source of comfort as opposed to a way to beg god for the outcome we want.

  3. Sounds great… I love when it’s JUST FOR ME!!! We’ve been studying Nehemiah lately too…

  4. That’s amazing. I have been finding church very difficult over the past few months, what with all the focus on Mary’s pregnancy and the baby Jesus during Advent, Christmas and Epiphany! I’m so pleased that your pastor’s sermons have been speaking to you.

    I have been trying to turn to prayer more, and to ask God for the strength to cope with whatever happens rather than begging and pleading, and it does help.

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

