Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Sadness

on December 17, 2012

I’ve done a lot in the past few days. I went to my office Christmas party, saw The Hobbit with my family, hung out with some of the teen girls from the church, made some Christmas presents, and various other things. But only one thing has been on my mind, and I just can’t shake it. I had no intention of posting about the shooting in Connecticut, but it’s the only thing I’ve been able to think about for days. I have no personal connection with the shooting–apart from the fact that I am a human who cares about other humans, but I can’t seem to function after hearing that news. I just keep hearing my husband’s words over and over again. They haunt me. When we were talking about it on Friday evening, hubby said, “When I was listening to the news, I just kept thinking ‘What if some of those parents were like us? What if it took them six or seven years to have a kid only to have some a**hole shoot them?'” It makes me cry just typing it.

I desperately want a child, and I know that hubby feels the same way. But the thought that we could work so hard and go through all of this pain just to have a child that we ultimately can’t protect scares and upsets me to the point that it is crippling.

I have nothing but sadness in my heart for those families. I have nothing but sadness in my heart for the pointless violence and death that occurred on Friday and occurs on a daily basis in this country and around the world.

One response to “Sadness

  1. hopingonhope says:

    I thought the same when I heard the shootings… its shocking and I just want to hug my nieces and nephews tighter after this.

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

