Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

What the Hell?

on December 12, 2012

Have you checked the “Freshly Pressed” section today? I took a look today and saw a blog post entitled “Prenan-sucky.” That’s right, WordPress freshly pressed a blog post about how much pregnancy sucks. Not only that, but the author accidentally got pregnant (her due date is 9 mon and 2 days after her wedding) and whines about how she hadn’t planned to get pregnant so soon.

Did I mention she has only written three posts on her blog? She’s not even an establish blogger. I know IVF Male posted not too long ago about trying to get freshly pressed, and I think it would be wonderful if he did because he is a good writer who is really open about his journey and what infertility looks like. I don’t see how they could choose something like this while he still sits and waits to see his blog up in the “Freshly Pressed” section.

What the hell, WordPress?

It’s just so typical that a post about how much an accidental pregnancy sucks would be freshly pressed. I have nothing against the author–her blog is her space to post whatever she wants, but I don’t understand WordPress’s choice. And I’m a little pissed that I’ve never seen an IF/loss blog on there, but they will freshly press a post that just seems to embody what so many bloggers in this community find extremely hurtful.

I’m not saying they should put one of my posts up there–I’m perfectly happy in my little corner of the internet, but I know multiple bloggers who would love that honor and if they get pressed, it might actually help educate people.

11 responses to “What the Hell?

  1. ewagner123 says:

    I am speechless by the audacity of that blog writer. I mean, we’re all entitled to our feelings and all, but that is just, ahem, a bit much.

  2. steph50 says:

    She has obviously never miscarried or suffered through infertility… I kind of envy her for that. I do agree, though, that WordPress could have thought twice before putting that post on Freshly Pressed.

  3. I wonder if we can all write and petition FP to publish one of us…

  4. Theresa says:

    Man not only is that topic shitty, but its not even well written.

  5. Arwen Rose says:

    Ugh. That is all I can say on her.

  6. hopingonhope says:

    I am sound mean here, but in all honesty, if a pregnancy is not wanted, it sucks right? She is feeling trapped and probably guilty too, so its a double blow for her. Yes, we might argue how hard is it in this age to try to not get pregnant, but then, we don’t know her story. Its obvious she has no idea what IF is all about, and Lord, please let it stay that way.

    And regarding WordPress putting her blog on freshly pressed, well, don’t we all know that people with the least common sense always rule the roost? :)

    • hopingonhope says:

      The reason I say we don’t know her story is because I know a close friend of mine who got pregnant with a IUD . She is super fertile and she still carries the guilt of aborting that baby. When I heard it, I was like what the eff… I googled to see if it was even possible and apparently, it is. Dont mean to hurt anyone with my comment above.. Peace…

    • You don’t sound mean at all and you certainly didn’t hurt my feelings. I can’t speak for the comments, but this post was 100% directed towards WordPress, not the blogger. Like I said, it’s her space, and she can use it to write whatever she wants to. I wish nothing but a healthy pregnancy and a healthy baby for her. I just wish WordPress would freshly press an IF/loss blog and not a blog that is insensitive to IF/loss. It’s just typical of the world we live in and the attitudes we are surrounded by.

  7. ivfmale says:

    Why thank you RainbowCatcher! I’m touched. :)

    Sadly I’ve notice several blogs posted on Freshly Pressed that leave me scratching my head on why they were chosen. Most are very well done. Some I think resonate with someone for whatever reason. Thus causing some of the short comings of the post to be overlooked.

    I don’t care if I’m freshly pressed or not, but I would like something about infertility Freshly Pressed. Infertility is such an emotional painful journey and few outside our community have any clue what it’s like. That’s the reason I was wanting to be freshly pressed. To spread the word and bring infertility out of the shadows and into the public conscience.

    • I agree that someone in the community needs to be pressed so that it can spread awareness. I had thought of you specifically because you had mentioned it in a previous post, and I think you would be a good representation of the community.

      • ivfmale says:

        I appreciate you saying that.

        I promise to keep trying, but the weekly challenges the last couple of weeks haven’t been very inspiring.

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

