Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Abnormal

on December 10, 2012

Warning: I’m about to talk about periods. A lot. In detail.

I’ve always been somewhat aware of the fact that I have unusually heavy periods, but in the past year or so, I have started to realize just how different I am from most women. There were little hints, like whenever I needed to ask someone for a tampon, they only had these little tiny ones that might last me about an hour. And the look of shock on girls faces when I mention that I’ve been on my period for over a week. Not too long ago, I was on a retreat while I was on my period. When I confided in a friend that I was concerned about my need to go to the bathroom every two hours, she told me to just use a bigger tampon. I told her that I use super tampons, and her jaw dropped. It took me a long time to realize that most girls don’t go through a super tampon every two or three hours for the first few days of their period, most of them don’t consistently bleed through a super tampon the first two nights of their period and most girls don’t have a period that lasts well over a week.

My suspicions where finally confirmed when I used a Divacup for the first time yesterday. When I first opened my new Divacup, I was a little surprised at how small it is. That’s right, I thought it was small. Yes, it’s a little large when you are trying to insert it, but I wondered how something that size could possibly hold my heavy flow. The website, however, reassured me that the cup is more than large enough: “The DivaCup conveniently holds one full ounce of menstrual flow (30 ml). As the average woman only flows approximately 1 to 1.4 ounces (30-40 ml) per cycle, The DivaCup is the ideal menstrual solution to care for your cycle. In fact, many women are surprised at the amount of flow and expected that there would be much more!” I was actually looking forward to checking the little measurements on the cup and learning that I was not bleeding nearly as much as I thought, but I had the opposite experience. I started my period yesterday afternoon, and between that time and this morning, I’ve already surpassed the 1.4 oz average. It was almost filled to the halfway point both times I emptied it yesterday, and it was almost completely full this morning. This is over the course of only 17 hours.

I told hubby about it this morning, and he said “No wonder you are so exhausted when you are on your period.” Seriously. I usually do nothing but go to work and come home and sleep when I get to the end of my period because I’m too tired to even function. I’m completely wiped every time Aunt Flo decides to visit, and I thought I was being pathetic because women have managed to power through since the beginning of time. At least now I have confirmed that I am not like most women, and I have a small excuse for how tired and pitiful I am at the end of my period. Trust me, I am now sufficiently jealous of all of these women with their little wimpy periods.

Is there anything I can do to help lighten the flow a little? I was amazed at how light it was when I was on birth control, but that’s not really an option for someone who is TTC. Anyone know of a miracle herb or something that I could take? I promise to be your best friend.

Also, I just wanted to say that I am in no way giving a bad review of the Divacup–I’m really happy with it. I just have to empty it more often than most women. I’m already in love with the fact that I don’t have to carry an arsenal of giant tampons and pads with me everywhere I go.

5 responses to “Abnormal

  1. storkchaser says:

    Sounds like my period. Sorry to say, even acupuncture hasn’t lightened it. Do you maybe have endometriosis?!

    • Who knows? I’ve never had an OB really listen to me. They would just hand me BC pills and tell me to move on. It wasn’t until recently that I even realized that my periods aren’t normal.

  2. steph50 says:

    I have heavy periods, too, but a bit lighter than your’s, it seems. Make sure you get plenty of iron and B12!

  3. Prior to my fibroid/endo surgery last year I would go through a couple super tampons in an hour, sometimes with large clots. I would highly suggest getting checked out for fibroids and/or endo because heavy bleeding is definitely a symptom!!

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

