Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Belle

on November 29, 2012

Earlier today, Belle at Scrambled Eggs published a post saying that her blog has received some really harsh comments and hurtful messages, and she is going to take some time away. It really upset that someone could hurt her like that. It upset me to the point that I wanted to write a post to let everyone know why I love Belle and her blog.

Belle is one of the bravest and most honest bloggers I have encountered here, which is saying something because you have to be pretty darn brave and honest in the first place to blog about IF and loss. She has written about some tough subjects that I know were not easy to address, but I also know that I related to many of these posts and found comfort in the fact that I am not alone in some of my more painful or humiliating feelings. Not only does she encourage me and make me feel like I’m not alone by writing these posts, she inspires me to be more honest and write about the tough stuff. Without Belle, I don’t know that I could have mustered up the courage to write about some hard topics like infertility affecting hubby’s sex drive.

When you pour your heart out on the internet, you take a risk. A risk of being judged and criticized. It’s a risk all of us in this community take, and the more honest we are about the hard stuff, the higher the risk. I just want to say that I truly appreciate Belle taking that risk and that it has brought me insight and healing.

Thank you, Belle.

9 responses to “Belle

  1. Belle says:

    Sniffle sniffle. This has me all soggy. Thank you for your kind words. I’ll be back to the blogging world in a few days, I just need to regroup. xoxo

  2. Thank you for saying what a lot of us are feeling….even though it is a public forum and you are putting yourself out there by writing about your most private thoughts and feelings, I really don’t see WHY some people have to try and make themselves feel better by being negative and hurtful to someone they really don’t know. Its cowardly, its shameful and its just plain disgusting behaviour from adults who should know better. We should be applauding the brave bloggers who DO open themselves up,not hiding behind an anonymous persona and making hurtful,hateful comments.

  3. ewagner123 says:

    Ooh looks like a good blog. I’m following now!
    Haters can hate… hope that doesn’t stop that blog because it looks good!

  4. Theresa says:

    As I said on belles blog – people are assholes. It’s unbelievable. And it sucks.

  5. SM says:

    Great post! I felt compelled to write my own after this whole thing. It’s just crazy how harsh and nasty adults can be!

  6. steph50 says:

    I wanted to write an entry as well. I was so shocked when I read her post this afternoon! I can’t understand why someone would be so mean!

  7. Anyone who has suffered a loss or is battling infertility is amazingly brave for writing about it. An immense amount of honesty and emotions go into every post and for someone to send harsh comments goes to show how awful they are. I hope that after her regroup, Belle comes back and continues blogging!

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

