Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Liebster Blog Award :o)

on November 21, 2012

Hello ladies! I’m so sorry that I have been MIA, but we’ve had a lot going on and to be honest, I needed a little break from this world. This is our third cycle of not TTC and I’m feeling stuck right now. I mean, how many different ways can I say we aren’t trying, we want a baby, I’m heartbroken about our losses, and I want to punch every pregnant woman I see in the face? That last one a little bit of an exaggeration, but not much of one. Anyway, on a positive note:

I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Blog award by two lovely ladies! I mostly just happy that I have friends here in the bloggy world :o) This award is granted to up-and-coming bloggers with fewer than 200 followers who deserve some recognition and support to keep on blogging. I have to answer 11 questions by each lady and then nominate 11 other ladies and give them 11 questions to ask.

Here are my questions from MRKH Musings. If you haven’t checked out her blog, you really need to. She has a pretty unique story, and I am just so touched by her honesty and vulnerability.

1.  Would you rather be a Hammer or a Nail?
I feel like the obvious answer to this is the hammer because no one wants to be the nail who gets beat on all the time, but I think I will pick the nail. I’m a fairly empathetic person, and I don’t think I could be the hammer and be mean to others all the time. Plus the nail gets to hang out and hold stuff together which seems like a pretty noble thing to me :o)

2.  If you could look like any celebrity who would it be?
I would never want to look like a celebrity. Then I would have all of the hassle of being a celebrity (people taking pictures of me and asking for my autograph) without any of the perks ($$$$$$).


3.  Would you rather go into outer space or to the bottom of the ocean? Why?
Outer Space. I’m super claustrophobic, and just being underwater in the deep end of a pool freaks me out. I don’t know why, because water doesn’t seem like it would bother people who are afraid of tight places, but it definitely does. I thought it was just me before I learned that people who are claustrophobic usually can’t handle scuba diving.

4. If you could have any super power what would it be?
Is teleportation a superpower? I think that would be awesome.

5. What is your Bond Girl name? (First ever pet’s name hyphenated with the name for your lady bits you used as a child/will use for your daughter followed by your maternal Grandma’s maiden name. For example mine is Tasseen-Fanny Wilson.)
Lucky-TeeTee Bowman. Hmm, that doesn’t sound like a Bond girl name. It sounds atrocious. Also, TeeTee is the name I used as a child, but I plan on using anatomically correct words with my children. Lucky-Vagina Bowman sounds even worse, and now I can’t stop laughing.

6. Favourite colour?
Blue

7. What tradition/custom from your own childhood will you ensure you continue with your kids?
We were always allowed to open one present on Christmas Eve, and it was always a set of pajamas that we slept in that night. Then we always looked adorable in pictures Christmas morning. I’ll probably keep up that tradition.

8. Which would you rather be amazing at, singing or dancing?
Dancing. I love to dance, but I’m not very good at it.

9. If you ran for president/prime minister what would be the silliest thing you would put on your manifesto?
I’m not really sure, I’m so not funny enough to think of something good to put here.


10.  Did you go to University or straight to work? If you had the chance would you go back and do the opposite?
I went to college, and I don’t regret it at all. I loved going to school and I’m trying to go back. I much prefer being a student over being an employee.

11. Given all the fertility in the world, in your ideal family how many kids do you have?
Hubby and I have talked about this (who hasn’t?), and I think we both agree that three is a good number.

And here are my questions Surviving Baby Dreams. This is another blogger that I really care about. She is another RPLer who has been very supportive to me through her kind comments. You should go give her some love. Right now.

1. What is your favorite season and why?
Autumn. This sounds incredibly nerdy, but one of the reasons I love fall is because it marks the new school year. Even though I’ve finished school, it still reminds me of the excitement of going to new classes, receiving the syllabus, looking through new school books, moving into my dorm room, etc. I also love it because I live in East TN and the Great Smoky Mountains are so beautiful this time of year.

2. How did you know your spouse/partner was the one?
When I met hubby, I was not in a good place. I was depressed and anorexic. He was the first person in a long, long time who told me that I was beautiful and I believed him. I don’t mean I believed that he thought I was beautiful, I mean I believed I was beautiful. He made me love myself again–or maybe even for the first time.

3. What is your best childhood memory?
I just like the everyday memories of playing outside, climbing trees, eating a sit-down dinner with my family, etc. I feel like there was a small window in my childhood that was simple and happy, so I like to embrace those memories.

4. Do you have any siblings and if so, do you have a good relationship with them?
I have a beautiful sister, S. I love her to pieces, and we’ve become really close, especially as hubby and I have dealt with loss. The interesting thing is that we really disliked each other for most of our childhood, and it wasn’t until I moved away for college that we started becoming friends. Now I can’t imagine having her to call, and I miss her because she is going to school in North Carolina.

5. What is the greatest lesson this TTC/loss thing has taught you?
I cannot measure my worth as a person/woman/wife by my ability to conceive and carry children.

6. What is your favorite kind of movies?
I love Quentin Tarantino movies, and I absolutely cannot wait for Django Unchained!

7. Sweet, salty or both?
Oooo, both. Have you ever eaten cotton candy and peanuts at the same time? Do it

8. Have the Holidays changed for you since embarking on your TTC journey?
I can’t really answer this question because we started TTC in August of last year so while I was a little upset that we weren’t pregnant last year, we hadn’t reached the IF/RPL stage yet. I’ll let know know once this year is over. I will say that my marriage changed the holidays for me. I was not a big fan of the holidays before (they were highly emotional and filled with crying, yelling, etc.), but now that it is just hubby and me, I LOVE the holidays! Seriously, I’m exerting quite a bit of self control right now to not start playing Christmas music and setting up the tree.

9. How do you feel about pregnancy announcements?
Monday, hubby told me that our new friends who got married last month are pregnant, and I starting crying and talking about how unfair it is. That should just about sum it up.

10. If you could change anything in your life besides your infertility/losses, what would it be?
I wish we had enough money to travel. There are so many things/places/people I want to see, but we are just barely paying all the bills right now. We could make a few life changes to have some extra cash if we really needed it (like for a baby), but we definitely do not have enough extra cash to spend on a trip.

11. Where would you go if you won the trip of a lifetime?
I would go on an actual trip of a lifetime–spending the rest of my life traveling. Europe, Asia, Africa, South America, I want to see it all and spend a significant amount of time in each place.

Ok, at this point, I’m supposed to nominate 11 bloggers for the award. There are so many bloggers that I follow who deserve an award, and I’ve seen this award really making the rounds over the past few weeks, so I’m going to try to nominate bloggers that I know deserve some recognition and I don’t think have received it yet, at least I haven’t seen them do a liebster blog post! There are only six bloggers who meet this criteria, so I’m going to just nominate them and ask that anyone who is not listed here, please feel free to consider yourself nominated and answer the questions :o)

Genuine Greavu

Non Sequitur Chica

Womb Wasteland

Wanting Another Wagner

This Crazy Baby Journey

Songs and Sonnets

Here are your questions:

1. Why did you start blogging?

2. How did you choose your blog name?

3. What is your favorite blog? (You can name more than one if you want)

4. How did you meet your significant other?

5. What is your favorite color?

6. You are having a dinner party and can invite 5 people (living or deceased), who would they be?

7. What is your favorite distraction when things get a little too rough?

8. Would you describe yourself as an introvert or extrovert?

9. How long does it take you to get ready in the morning? Bonus: describe your morning routine.

10. Coffee or Tea?

11. Think of a question you would like to answer, then answer it! A question that really reveals something you want others to know about you.

10 responses to “Liebster Blog Award :o)

  1. storkchaser says:

    this was a fun way to get to know you. my favorite tradition was to unwrap one gift on christmas eve as well. :) i like the pajamas angle though!! keep truckin sister, you will have your baby one day!! but for now, we can be pouty impatient ladies together. ;) hugs!!

    • This took a surprisingly long time to write, so I’m glad you enjoyed it :o)
      The pajamas angle was pretty cool, but in some ways it was a bummer because we already knew what it was before we unwrapped it.
      I’m getting pretty awesome at the pouty impatient thing. Honestly, the only person I know who is more impatient than me is my hubby, so it just figures that we have to wait so long for our baby.
      Thanks for the hugs–I’m glad that we are bloggy friends :o)

  2. Arwen Rose says:

    Lucky-vagina bowman had me crying with laughter! That’s a brilliant name! Ha ha ha!

  3. OMG. My mum believed in using anatomically correct words too, and my Bond Girl name is Twitch-Vagina Machin! *laughs hysterically*

    Thanks so much for the Liebster award. I’ll respond in due course. :)

  4. Erin says:

    I would be Bart-Crack Johnstone. Somehow I don’t think that’s very bond girl-ish

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

