Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Writing Prompts!

on October 26, 2012

October 23: What are you most envious of?
Apart from the obvious answer about women who are fertile and grow babies like they are supposed to, I would have to say that I am often envious of people who are really organized. Sometimes (actually, a lot of times), I walk into other people’s houses and I instantly feel ashamed at the fact that their house is so much more tidy and organized than mine. Our house is usually a disaster. Seriously. Hubby and I are the messiest people I know. We aren’t dirty–I clean often, but we leave stuff everywhere and sometimes I forget what color the carpet is in our room because I haven’t seen it in so long. I think it’s funny because I’ve had multiple friends tell me how much they love coming to our house because it feels “lived in,” which is a nice way of pointing out how it is not immaculate like their houses. I feel a little embarrassed to admit this, and I feel like it is stupid for this to be the thing I’m envious of, but there it is.

October 24: What are you thankful/grateful for today?
I am thankful for playfulness. Last night, hubby and I did something we haven’t done in a long time: we wrestled. I know what you are thinking, and I swear this is not code for something kinky, hubby and I actually love to wrestle each other. Every once in awhile when we get into bed, one of us will pounce the other one, and we will wrestle and try to pin one another until:
1) One of us wins by pinning the the other’s shoulders down until the count of three
2) One of us is injured (it’s never anything serious, usually a pulled muscle)
3) We are both too exhausted to carry on and call a truce
One thing you have to realize is that hubby is 6’4″ 220lbs and I’m 5’3″ 130lbs, but I’m a whole lot stronger than I look so I hold my own fairly well and usually win as often as he does. I know it’s a weird thing to be thankful for, but I just love it when we play together. When we wrestle, there is a lot of laughter and stress relief and fun, and I am so, so thankful that I married my best friend who I get to be silly with and play with.

October 25: Post a picture of what you look like first thing in the morning side by side with a picture of you ready to start your day. I will try to remember to take a morning picture so that I can show you all this, but it’s honestly not that exciting. Don’t hate me, but the pictures would look almost identical apart from the fact that I will look very sleepy in one–mostly because I don’t wear any makeup and I have magically wonderful hair that pretty much always cooperates, even when I first wake up.

October 26: What is your favorite activity to do by yourself?
I work next to a river, and every day that the weather cooperates, I walk about a half a mile to my favorite spot by the river and sit during my hour-long lunch break. Many days I will take my Bible to read and do devotions, but sometimes I don’t take anything and just sit and stare out at the river. Sometimes I pray, sometimes I fall asleep (I set an alarm on my phone), sometimes I just sit and stare at the water, but it is the best part of my work day.

One response to “Writing Prompts!

  1. Arwen Rose says:

    I love that you wrestle your huge husband! Mine is 6’8″ and I am 5’4″ and even though I am strong for my size he is a giant!
    Oh and my house is a bombsite messy too!

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

