Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

October Writing Prompts Super Duper Catch up!

on October 19, 2012

October 11: If you could change one thing about your personal appearance, what would it be and why?
I know this sounds a little shallow, but I would really like for my boobs to be bigger. I know that all of you well endowed ladies out there are shaking your heads at me right now, but I promise I don’t want ginormous boobs. In fact, I would just be happy to get my birth control boobs back because they shrank considerably after I quit taking it. Beyond that, I think it would be nice to be a little taller. Hubby is over a foot taller than me and sometimes I think it would be nice to be able to do stuff like dance cheek to cheek. Or not have to hem/roll up all of my pants when I wear them.

 

October 12: If you could change on thing about your personality, what would it be and why.
I think it would be nice to stop being such a perfectionist. I tend to put things off and never get anything done because it has to be perfect. It makes even simple things like cleaning the house or typing up blog posts difficult.

 

October 13: What is the one thing you like best about yourself?
Why is it so hard to say something nice about yourself? I like to think that I’m very encouraging to my husband and friends. I just care so much about people, and I love to celebrate with them and care for them when they are having difficulties. I guess that’s why I enjoy this community so much.

Physically, I love my hair. It is dirty blonde and straight as a board. I usually let it air dry and never use product in it beyond shampoo and conditioner, and it always looks nice. It’s perfect for me because I’m too lazy to do my hair every day.

 

October 14: What is the greatest compliment you ever received?
Growing up, my mother constantly told me how selfish I was. I remember having a bad day when I was a kid and asking my mom for a hug and she said no, that I didn’t actually want to hug her, that I only wanted a hug to make myself feel better. And people wonder why I’ve had issues with the idea of becoming a mother. Anyway, it was an extremely hurtful part of my childhood that I don’t think ever really left me, but I have grown and realized that I was not actually an extremely selfish child–I just had a mother who usually blamed me for wanting things that every child wants (like attention and affection from my parents). I’m telling you this so that my answer to this question will make more sense. When I was studying in Germany, I had people over to my apartment all the time. I loved to make dinner and share it with a friend. One day, I had a friend over and I was giving her some of my latest grocery store discoveries to try, and she told me that I was the most sharing person she had ever met. As someone who was told her entire life how selfish she is, that comment touched me in ways my friend will never know.

 

October 15: If you could go back in time, what decade would you choose to live in?
I am constantly told that I was born in the wrong time and I should have been this age during the 80’s. I think this is a reflection of my clothes, the music I listen to, etc. I sometimes think it would be cool to live in Victorian England, but when I actually think about it, that would probably not be so awesome. There is something to be said for women’s rights and indoor plumbing.

 

October 16: A little TMI? Share something you never thought you would ever post on the internet.
No idea what to write here–mostly because I want to write something really good, but I’m at a loss for something really juicy. I mean, this is a blog about TTC, miscarriages, and (hopefully one day) pregnancy, so there isn’t much that’s off limits here and I post some stuff that I consider TMI all the time. How about I just try to continue to be open and type things that are relevant to my posts even if they are a little mortifying?

 
October 17: How would you describe your personal style?
I’m not really sure how to answer this question. My favorite thing to wear would be jeans and a soft long-sleeved t-shirt, and I wear this as often as I can get away with it. In fact, that is what I am wearing right now because it is casual Friday. I own multiple pairs of high top Converses and Chacos. My shoe collection is pretty limited to those two things plus a few pairs of boots  (I actually wore a pair of white Converses with “Mrs. (insert married name here)” embroidered on them in our wedding). In the summer, I wear a lot of dresses and skirts because I hate shorts. I don’t like the way they look on me, and I don’t think they are comfortable. I get a lot of comments because I usually wear my skirts and dresses with my high top Converses which people either think is the cutest thing they’ve ever seen or tacky as hell. I’m pretty minimalist when it comes to accessories (although I am really starting to love scarves) and I almost never wear makeup. Also, I would say that at least 60% of my wardrobe is blue, which hubby likes to tease me about. I hope that paints a good picture for you!

 
October 18: Make an acrostic of your first name (or pseudonym) using each letter to describe yourself.
Dancing (I love to and I’m not very good at it)
Always worrying :o/
Nice
Intelligent
Encouraging
Loving
Little
Enthusiastic

 
October 19: What is your favorite quote?
Ooooo, I have a few:

(This on varies a little depending on the translation you read): “You are a thoroughly earnest and sincere man. This is your strength and your limitation. You are thoroughly earnest and sincere and you want all life to be earnest and sincere too, but it never is” -Anna Karenina

“I want to live my life so I’ll be able to read an in-depth biography about myself in later years and not puke” -Paris from Gilmore Girls

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suite me” -C.S. Lewis

 

Hopefully I’ll be better about keeping up with these the rest of the month, and I won’t have to post as ton of them at one time anymore!

One response to “October Writing Prompts Super Duper Catch up!

  1. Arwen Rose says:

    Your style sounds very like mine! I love that you wore converse for your wedding, that is so cool!

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

