Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

That’s Me Thursday

on October 4, 2012

I have recently discovered The Barren Librarian, and she seems pretty awesome. She has suggested a “That’s Me Thursday” where we write three facts about ourselves that have nothing to do with fertility. I figured I would participate this week to try and make up for the fact that I’m taking two days off from the October Writing Prompts. So here are three (hopefully interesting) facts about me:

1. I adore tea. Seriously. Every day I sit at my desk at work and drink a cup of hot tea as my caffeine for the day. I am prone to migraines, so I keep track of my caffeine intake and try to only drink one caffeinated beverage a day. But sometimes I have to cheat and drink iced tea as well. One of my favorite quotes (by one of my favorite authors, see if you can guess who said it without Google cheating) is “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I think that explains me fairly well, and I am positive that I was born in the wrong country. I loved drinking hot tea all of the time when I was visiting friends in Manchester and Dublin, and I think it must be some kind of cosmic joke that I am surrounded by all of these coffee drinkers.

2. My two most prized possessions are a quilt that was sewn for me by my grandmother when I started college and a wooden chest built for me by my grandfather when hubby and I got married. Both of them have passed away, and I absolutely treasure these gifts. My grandfather was a master carpenter who built lots of the items in my house, and I think I love the chest most of all because it was the last thing he made for me. I inherited most of his woodworking tools because I was the grandson he never had, and I hope to learn how to use them and carry on his legacy.

3. I sort my candy before I eat it. I have mentioned before that I have battled OCD throughout my life, and while it is under control right now, there are some things that never go away. Whenever I open a package of Smarties, a fun-sized bag of M&M’s, or some other candy that comes with many small pieces that are decipherable from each other, I have to dump them all out and sort them into colors. Here’s a small glimpse into my crazy brain: let’s say I have a small bag of M&M’s that contains 9 brown, 7 red, 6 orange, 4 green, 4 blue, and two yellow. I will eat 2 brown ones so that I have the same number of brown and red. Then I will eat a brown one and a red one so I have the same number as orange. Then I will eat a brown one, a red one, a orange one, etc. until I have 4 of each and they are the same as green. Then I will follow that pattern until I have the same number of all of the colors. Then I will line them up in order of my favorite colors (or in the case of candies that have a distinct taste, in order of my favorite flavors). Then I will eat one of each color from least favorite to most favorite and continue to do this until I have one left in my favorite color (or flavor). Then I will stare at this last piece of candy for an outrageous length of time, actually considering not eating it because it is my favorite and once I eat it, it will be gone forever and I can never eat it again. Then, I eat the last piece. I go through this pattern every time. Yes, it can be a little exhausting to be me sometimes. Usually, I prefer large bags of candy because I can just eat those like a normal person.

So now you know a little bit more about me. Please still be my friend :o)

2 responses to “That’s Me Thursday

  1. I do some of the same things with candy, so maybe I have a little OCD too? I was eating Runts yesterday and if I take 6 candies out, then whichever color Runt I have more of, I must eat so that i have the same number of candies of every color. This is not a hard and fast rule though. And obviously I wait to eat my favorite color/flavor until the last bite!!

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

