Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

October 2: Proposal

on October 2, 2012

Continuing with Future Ford’s October writing prompts :o) This makes two in a row–I’m on a role!

October 2: How did you husband/spouse/partner propose?

I feel like this would be a good opportunity to tell all of you the story of how hubby and I started dating. When we met in June of 2005, I had just finished my junior year of high school and had just broken up with my boyfriend of a year and a half. I had made a promise to myself that I would not bother with another serious relationship until I went to college, that I was too young and needed to play the field and date a little. The relationship that I had just ended about 2 months before I met hubby was my only real boyfriend. I had dated a little before him, but nothing serious. So my experience with guys was very limited.

Hubby was the exact opposite. He had just graduated from high school, and I’m pretty sure he dated every girl in his county and some in surrounding counties. One time he went on three different dates in one day. That’s right, he took out three different girls on dates in one day. He didn’t see a reason to settle down into a relationship; he wanted to play the field until he found the right one. Needless to say, he developed a bit of a reputation, and he was definitely known as a smooth talker who got all the girls.

I met hubby at a summer camp where we were both counselors. The entire week we were at staff training, I was craving Bruster’s Ice Cream (a really yummy ice cream place in the area), and at the end of the week, I went around trying to get everyone together to go the Bruster’s over the weekend. No one was biting. Finally, hubby said, “I love Bruster’s ice cream!” so I gave him my number and told him to call me over the weekend so we could go together. Honestly, all I was thinking about was ice cream, and I would have given my number to anyone who volunteered to go with me. We ended up going out every weekend the rest of the summer, and I finally learned much later that he had never even heard of Bruster’s ice cream and only wanted to go out with me. So our entire relationship started with a lie.

I wanted to tell you about how hubby was a “smooth talker,” so that I can tell you about how he was an adorable bumbling fool when we were dating. He would constantly trip over his words and say really awkward things. The first time he told me he liked me went something like this: “When I first saw you, I, um, thought that, um, you know, um, if I were to date anyone at camp, um, you know, if I were to date anyone here, it, um, well, it would probably, most likely be you.” Romantic, right?

Apparently, hubby bought my ring months before he proposed and everyone knew about it but me. We had been dating for a year and a half (so I was a freshman in college) and were driving down to Texas to spend Christmas with my dad. Hubby was freaking out the entire drive down there, and I couldn’t figure out why. I was also freaking out, but I always freak out when I’m going to visit my dad because we don’t talk a lot so we don’t really know each other very well and it’s always really awkward when we are together. But I couldn’t figure out why hubby was so nervous because he was fine the only other time he met my dad. It turns out he was so nervous because he was going to ask my dad’s permission to propose to me. Once we were there, hubby spoke to my dad, and he immediately sat me down and proposed. He was a nervous wreck and I was really concerned about him and kept asking him if he was ok while he was proposing. There was no long, planned out proposal with a story that makes everyone’s heart melt, but I thought he was so adorable and I wouldn’t change it.

After that, we were engaged for three and a half years, and we got married on our five year anniversary. That was two and a half years ago, so I have been with this wonderful man for seven and a half years.

So now you know about hubby’s proposal and a little bit about how it all started :o)

By the way, when we were in premarital counseling, the pastor asked each of us “When did you know that you were going to marry this person?” I said six months into it, and hubby said the second date. About floored me.

4 responses to “October 2: Proposal

  1. Jenn says:

    That’s sweet :) Can’t believe he knew on the second date!

    • I know, I about died when he said that! I told him I had no idea that he knew that early and he said, “I know, if I told you, I would have scared you away.” And he was right, of course. I have some significant abandonment issues, so I was a major flight risk through a large part of our early relationship.

  2. Wow- second date! That’s impressive. About a month into our relationship my now husband was asked to move back to the east coast for work. When he brought it up to me, I felt that we hadn’t been together long enough for me to say anything, but that I would be bummed and that a long distance relationship would be hard. He ended up telling them that he wasn’t moving, almost lost his job (thankfully he didn’t) and we moved to the east coast after I graduated law school.

    • Yeah, long distance is hard. We did it for most of our relationship before we got married. At one point, I spent five months in Germany while he was in Tennessee. I’m glad it all worked out with you two and he was able to postpone the move.

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

