Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

October 1: Aquarius

on October 1, 2012

Photo found here

This month I’m going to do my best to participate in the October Writing Prompts from The Future Fords blog. Here’s the prompt for October 1: What is your astrological sign and do you feel it’s accurate?

To be completely honest, I’ve never really paid any attention to astrology, and apart from knowing that I’m an Aquarius , I know next to nothing about my astrological sign. I had to do a little research to even be able to write this post. Here are two of the websites that I consulted:

http://www.astrology-online.com/aquarius.htm

http://www.astrology-insight.com/aquarius.htm

I have to say that many of the statements on these sites are pretty accurate. Most of the things I read basically said that Aquarians are unpredictable and hard to understand (and prone to mood swings). They are humanitarians who are idealists and usually don’t accomplish much in the way of saving the world because their heads are up in the clouds. They  are accepting of all types of people and are angered by prejudices and pre-judgments. They are sensitive, fiercely independent, and often described as loners who often need to withdraw from the world. I also read that Aquarians can be prone to worry, and if you’ve kept up with this blog at all, you know that is definitely me.

Here are the two things that really caught my eye as describing me:

…strong willed and forceful in their different ways and have strong convictions, though as they seek truth above all things, they are usually honest enough to change their opinions, however firmly held, if evidence comes to light which persuades them that they have been mistaken. They have a breadth of vision that brings diverse factors into a while, and can see both sides of an argument without shilly-shallying as to which side to take. Consequently they are unprejudiced and tolerant of other points of view. This is because they can see the validity of the argument, even if they do not accept it themselves.

The bane of my existence in school was having to take a side on a topic and support it because I can always see both sides of an argument on controversial subjects. I could argue either one, and it was extremely difficult for me to choose because I felt morally obligated to show and argue for both sides. This does not just apply to school, either: trying to choose which presidential candidate I’m going to vote for causes me to loose sleep for the same reason. I guess this helps explain why I’m hopelessly indecisive.

[They do not make friends easily] They sometimes appear to condescend to others and take too little trouble to cultivate the acquaintance of people who do not particularly appeal to them. They do not give themselves easily – perhaps their judgement of human nature is too good for that – and are sometimes accounted cold. But once they decide that someone is worthy of their friendship or love, they can exert an almost hypnotic and irresistible mental attraction on them and will themselves become tenacious friends or lovers, ready to sacrifice everything for their partners and be faithful to them for life. However, they are sometimes disappointed emotionally because their own high personal ideals cause them to demand more of others than is reasonable. And if they are deceived their anger is terrible. If disillusioned, they do not forgive.

Yes. All of this. I have such a hard time making friends. Most people bug me, and if I don’t like them enough to commit myself to them and their friendship 100%, I don’t really bother. Once I do make friends, I am so committed to that friendship and try to do whatever I can to help that person and make our friendship flourish, but it usually ends badly because its so one-sided and I feel rejected. I know it isn’t logical, but that’s just the way I am and I like how this paragraph explains it.

2 responses to “October 1: Aquarius

  1. As a fellow Aquarian, I have to say that this is pretty close to me as well, especially with the friend part.

  2. Arwen Rose says:

    hello from another fellow Aquarian on Jenn’s October list :)

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

