Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

IF Bloggers Book Club!

on September 21, 2012

So if you read this post, you know that I’m taking my life back, and one of the things I’ve planned to do is replace useless, stressful Google searching with reading real books. I have always loved reading–my mom is a librarian so I was raised reading good books. In college, I realized just how much I love classic literature and I earned a BA in English literature. A couple of my favorites include A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, The Monk by Matthew Gregory Lewis, and The Last Temptation of Christ by Nikos Kazantzakis. Yeah, I’m one of those people. I also absolutely love the Harry Potter series. I read the first book in the fourth grade before anyone knew about Harry Potter and there wasn’t a second book yet, and the last book came out the summer after my freshman year of college. So my childhood was really wrapped up in the series, and rereading the books gives me a comforting, homey feeling.

When I first graduated college, I worked at the local library and read some popular series like The Girl with Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I enjoyed branching out a little, but my heart will always be with the classics.

So, now that you all know a little more about me and my love affair with books, let’s talk about the IF Bloggers Book Club! I’m not entirely sure what this will look like yet, but here is what I’ve come up with so far:

  • To participate, you read at least one book a month and write a post about it on a predetermined day. I’m thinking about choosing a day in the middle of the month? I know the completed pin pictures for Storkchaser’s Lazy Pinner’s Challenge are due at the end of the month, and I don’t want bloggers stressing about finishing pins and writing a book post. So the October post will be…the 19th? Would that work for everyone?
  • You can read any book you want, but the book you choose has to be a book you’ve never read before. Don’t cheat and write a post about a book you read years ago.
  • You can write whatever you want in your post: a summary of the book, how much you loved/ hated it, expand on a theme that means something to you, get creative with some fan fiction, etc.
  • After everyone has posted, I will make a post linking to all of the book posts.

Everyone can send me an email (catchingourrainbow@gmail.com) or comment on this post letting me know 1) That you want to participate and 2) What book you are thinking about reading. If you are not sure yet which book you are going to read, you can list a couple of different books to choose from, and if you change your mind or hate the book you chose, you can always pick a different one. I just would like to have an idea of what kinds of books everyone will read :o) I’ll give everyone a week to make their books choices, so please let me know by the 28th. If you guys want to change anything or if you have a good idea to make this book club awesome, just let me know!

5 responses to “IF Bloggers Book Club!

  1. storkchaser says:

    I’m in! And I’ll read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. :-)

  2. Kristin says:

    I’m in, too! I’m going to aim for one of the following, probably the best: The Sojourn; What Dies in Summer; Where’d You Go Bernadette: A Novel; or, Beautiful Ruins. It all depends which one i can get from the library. Thanks for organizing!

  3. steph50 says:

    I can’t wait to read your reviews! I’m always looking for something good and different to read.

  4. […] month I’m taking part in RainbowCatcher’s Infertility Bloggers Book Club (technically I’m not infertile, but I think going through fertility treatment and a […]

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

