Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Not our month? Also, progesterone side effects

on August 21, 2012

I don’t think this is our cycle. I don’t know why, but I just know that I’m not pregnant. I’m not trying to be all doom and gloom, and I haven’t given up hope that we will have a child–I just don’t think it will happen this month. And I’m ok with that. For now. We weren’t originally planning on trying this cycle anyway, so it’s like a bonus cycle. Maybe its a defense mechanism: if I go ahead and convince myself that I’m not pregnant, I won’t be as upset when I’m not. Then again, no matter how much calm and acceptance I feel right now, I’ll probably be a mess in a week or so when AF arrives–I reserve the right to change my mind or mood at any time.

Speaking of moods, let me give you an update on my progesterone supplement.

I had a hard time finding real life stories about progesterone and its side effects when I got my prescription, so I told myself I would write about it in this blog. My midwife told me to take 200mg at day at bedtime, and it is best to take the pill with food because it can cause nausea. No kidding. We’ve been eating dinner fairly late the past few weeks, so I’ve had food in my stomach when I went to bed, and I would just take my pill without thinking twice about eating something. It’s been working just fine, but we ate an early dinner on Sunday. I took my pill as usual, without thinking about needing to eat, and I honestly thought I was going to puke. It was horrible. I am absolutely certain that the only thing that kept it down was sheer willpower and mental determination. So if you ever have to take progesterone and they tell you that you should take it with food, make sure you have food in your stomach when you take it. Trust me.

Also, hubby informed me last night that I’ve had some considerable moodswings lately. We were talking, and after I said something to him, he responded with, “Ok little wifey moodswings.” I asked him if I had honestly had a lot of moodswings lately, and he said that, yes, the past week has been very up and down.  I have noticed that I’ve been very irritable lately, and it doesn’t take much to upset me or cause me to make a snappy, hateful comment. I have had to apologize to hubby quite a few times in the last week or so for saying something that wasn’t so nice or for accusing him of something that wasn’t his fault. Despite noticing all of this myself, I didn’t think it was that noticeable to others, and I’m glad hubby let me know (during a neutral conversation when I wasn’t mad at him). I reminded him that I am on a hormone supplement that is affecting my moods, and thanked him for putting up with me :o)

The only other thing I’ve noticed is dehydration. I had a hard time believing this was caused by my progesterone, but when I looked online, it looked like it is actually a fairly common side effect. I usually drink 2-3 liters of water a day, plus a glass of juice and a cup of tea. Despite this, I am constantly parched. Seriously. My skin/lips/throat are always dry, my urine is a dark yellow (sorry if that was TMI), and I keep trying to fight off dehydration headaches. We have some Pedialyte freeze pops in our freezer that hubby bought for me when I had a stomach bug, and I think I’m just going to have to start eating a few of those a day to help me stay hydrated.

Have you had those months where you just know you aren’t pregnant? Also, if you have ever taken a progesterone supplement, what side effects did you notice?

****Added on August 22:

One very positive side effect of my supplements is I’m sleeping so well. Seriously, I have slept better in the past week or so than I have in a long time. I wake up easily in the morning feeling refreshed, and I don’t get sleepy during work anymore (I have a desk job that can get a little boring, so sometimes I’m really fighting off sleep while I’m at work). I didn’t put this in my original post because I guess I didn’t attribute my sleeping well and feeling so great throughout the day to the progesterone, but now that I think about it, I am sure it is the progesterone. The only problem is that I feel great and refreshed every day, but I’m still a grouchypants. Thanks for helping me realize this positive side effect, Steph.

*****Added on August 28:

Two days after writing this post, I found out I was pregnant. I was looking at all of my symptoms as side-effects of the prometrium, but now I know that they could have been pregnancy symptoms. I intended this post to be helpful to others when they start taking progesterone, so they can be aware of some of the side effects, but now I have no guarantee that any of these symptoms were caused by my supplement. So, basically, this post is not probably not helpful at all to someone who is researching progesterone. Sorry.

2 responses to “Not our month? Also, progesterone side effects

  1. steph50 says:

    I take prometrium when TTC and pregnant, and it doesn’t have many side effects for me. I find it helps me sleep! Maybe you could ask your midwife to switch you to the intra-vaginal one? It’s a bit messy, but has alot less side effects. You should tell her about the dehydration, too…

  2. I have noticed that I am sleeping REALLY well since I started taking it. should have put that in there too. I guess I didn’t think to attribute it to the prometrium–kind of like the dehydration. I didn’t immediately think it was a side effect, but it was the only thing that changed and could have affected it.
    Honestly, the side affects haven’t bothered me too much, and I only have to deal with them for two weeks (or longer if I get pregnant but we’ll cross that bridge when we get there). I have a follow-up appointment with my midwife in October, and I have just enough pills to last me until then, so we’ll talk about it and possibly some alternate options then. I just have to make sure I stay aware of how much I’m drinking and basically put down a liter or so more water a day than I usually do.

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

