Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm…

Support

on August 10, 2012

Who do you turn to for support when it feels like you are the only one who understands what you are going through? I am the first person in my circle of friends that has dealt with fertility issues and miscarriage. I am only the second person in my circle of friends who has even started trying to have kids. That can leave a girl feeling awfully lonely. So where do I turn?

Hubby: Hands down, my best source of support has been my hubby. He is my best friend who knows what I’m thinking before I ever have to say a word and can make me laugh no matter how far down I am. I could never dream up a man more perfect for me than hubby. He is a wonderful listener when I am upset or discouraged, and he is wonderful at building me up and not letting me get down on myself. I know that fertility issues and mc’s can really do a toll on relationships, but everything that we have been through has only brought the two of us closer. I could never say just how blessed I am to have him.

Baby Center Groups: Ok, I always thought that people who used internet forums or similar types of groups were pathetic and needed to get a life that involved real people beyond their computer screens. Now I am one of those people. As much as I love hubby and as much support as I receive from him, I needed comfort and support from women whose stories are similar to mine, and I was amazed at the love, wisdom, and encouragement that I found in a group called Trying to Conceive After Miscarriage at Baby Center. Through this group, I am part of a community that gives me a place to vent, get advice,  celebrate, find stories similar to mine, etc. It has taught me that an online support system can be very helpful as long as you don’t let it consume all of your time and energy–don’t become so obsessed with it that you forget the real world.

Blogs: I have also found quite a few blogs that I have enjoyed reading. Even if I have never spoken to these women, I feel connected to them, and I know that I’m not alone. One of my favorites is This Place is Now a Home which talks about one couple’s nine month struggle with fertility, then it covers her pregnancy and the growth of their adorable son.  She recently posted about a mc, and that made me feel even more connected to her. I’ve also recently discovered Dog Mom Chasing the Stork, which is a fairly new blog chronicling struggles with fertility and a mc. I’m not the only one out there dealing with fertility issues, and I’m not the only one who has been devastated by a mc. These blogs remind me of that fact, and even if they aren’t always upbeat and positive, that feeling of not being alone really encourages me. Being able to root for someone else and their journey just warms me.

So if you are looking for somewhere to turn, check out the groups at Baby Center. They have countless groups, and there is a place for everyone. You can also check out the blogs I mentioned–I have grown quite fond of the women who wrote them :D

Where do you turn to for support? Are there any online groups you are a part of or any particular blogs you enjoy reading?

-Danielle

5 responses to “Support

  1. I really like http://facesofloss.com/ and have joined one of their groups in my city. I also write about my miscarriages and infertility issues on my blog. I too am the first person in my group of friends that have experienced both infertility and miscarriages. I am very sorry for your loss.

    • The faces of loss website definitely looks like a good place for support, thanks for letting me know!

      It’s really hard to be the first–you feel like you are alone and no one understands, and your friends don’t really know how to support you. I’m so sorry you’ve had to deal with that as well. I’ll be checking out your blog.

  2. storkchaser says:

    Aww thanks for the shout out lady!!! I’m so glad you are here and hope you find other bloggers to connect with. I’m excited to follow your journey. :)

Leave a Reply

Bit of Earth Farm

Raising plants and animals in simple partnership with nature.

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

A Woman Like That

...I have been her kind.

Our Egg, Her Nest?

My journey to Motherhood through gestational surrogacy

Catching Our Rainbow

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stepping Stones

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Sabine Daily

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Recurrently Lost

My honest account of life with recurrent pregnancy loss

Caring for Crohn's & UC

Caring for a loved one with Crohn's Disease & Ulcerative Colitis

my german life:

an american girl in hamburg

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Stories of a Son

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Eighteenyears's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

IBDaily

The tales of a girl with unruly guts.

SocialJerk

Because writing about social work can be funny, too! (Sorry Precious)

No Air Radio

Hoping for a rainbow after the storm...

Growing Globe

"I am a pal of the world: I came from the wilderness." - Carl Sandburg

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

tales from the waiting room

Just another IF blog

The Moon on a Stick

Infertility and all that jazz.

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

